Cecina — beef jamon

Jamon — much-feared! Calling card and the most famous national product of Spain, representing the country and praising it to the skies.
A huge industry, hundreds of sorts and lots of manufacturers involved in producing pork legs and other constituent parts. But why only pork? There’s perfect beef in Spain, which is characterized by a magnificent taste and balanced fat. It is also hardly affected by the diseases so common among pigs. Also, a cow is much bigger and it contains almost no fat which is not eatable when pork jamon is cooked, by the way.And the saddest thing is that I’m not a big fan of pork meat. It seems to me dull and boring, not showing an expressive, bright meat taste. These are my strange preferences.
I tried to create something of beef many times. As a result I got perfect jerky, smoked beef, products in sous-vide but I learnt the recipe of real authentic cecina only during my visit to Barcelona’s food fairy. One of the ancient manufacturers from Spanish province Leon, where the most famous cow specie in Spain is crossbreed, told me this recipe.
The recipe is simple. We cut pieces of 5−8 kilos from beef, salt them following the standard rule 1 kg — 24 hours. According to manufacturers' words (I spoke with many of them), nitrites and nitrates are not used at all since beef is safer and there’s no need to «color» it additionally.

When the process of salting is over the meat goes through equilibration at low temperature and high humidity. Later, and that is the main difference from pork jamon, it is slowly smoked in a big store-house during 10−14 days. In a tray there are oak logs smoldering. After that, pieces of lightly smoked beef pass to standard drying until ready. The whole process takes from 7 months to a year. The cecina price is not a big one, around 25 Euros per kilo. In contrast, a nice but not the top one Iberico Bellota jamon costs 10 times more.
The cecina meat is dark, of deep red color, a dense one, with a strict and intense taste. Real foodies add some drops of good olive oil. It also goes well with black truffle and flakes of grated parmesan.

The product which resembles cecina most of all is Caucasian basturma, although it is made of beef sirloin and the meat is well-spiced.
And finally I’m going to open a huge Spanish secret. The pork’s foreleg is called «paleta» and it is much cheaper since the meat is worse and it contains more bones.
I’ve been keeping 2−3 pieces of beef drying in my chamber for the last couple of years. And the best cecina is made of the best sirloin, but not of the cow’s back part. Of course, it costs a little bit more, but if it makes me happier, why not?
Recipe for domestic cooking here (link)

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses cookies to enhance your experience. By continuing to the site you accept their use. More info in our cookies policy.     ACCEPT

Сесина — хамон из говядины

Хамон — великий и ужасный! Визитная карточка и самый известный национальный продукт, представляющий и возносящий Испанию на кулинарный Олимп.
Громадная индустрия, Сотни сортов и фабрик по производству свиных ног и прочих составляющих. Но почему же только свинина? В Испании есть прекрасная говядина, обладающая отменным вкусом, достаточной жирностью и почти не подверженная болезням, столь распространенным у свиного населения. Опять же, корова намного больше, в ней почти нет сала, который при приготовлении свиного хамона не съедобен.И, что самое обидное, я несколько прохладно отношусь к свинине, почему-то она кажется мне скучной, не насыщенной ярким мясным вкусом, такие вот странные пристрастия.
Неоднократно, я пытался воплотить что-либо из говядины. Прекрасно получаются джерки, копченая говядина, в су-виде, но настоящий рецепт классической сесины узнал только на выставке в Барселоне, у одного из старейших производителей из провинции Лион, где выращивается наиболее известная в Испании порода.
Рецепт прост, как и все гениальное: Из говядины вырезают куски по 5 — 8 кг, солят по стандартной схеме 1 кг — 1 сутки. По утверждению производителей (я общался со многими) нитриты и нитраты не применяются вообще, т. к говядина намного безопасней и не нуждается в «подкрашивании» мяса.


После активной просолки мясо идет на эквилибрацию при низких температурах и высокой влажности потом, и это главное отличие от свиного хамона, пассивно коптится в большом сарае 10−14 дней, где в корыте тлеют дубовые поленья, после чего куски подкопченой говядины идут на стандартную сушку до полной готовности. Весь процесс занимает от 7 месяцев до года. Цена на готовую сесину отнюдь не высока. Около 25 евро за кг. Приличный, но не топовый Иберико Беллота стоит ровно в 10 раз больше.
Мясо у сесины темное, почти бордовое, очень плотное, вкус строгий, глубокий, гурманы наносят несколько капель хорошего оливкового масла, отлично сочетается с черным трюфелем и хлопьями тертого пармезана.


Наиболее близким к сесине является кавказская бастурма, правда она делается из вырезки и сильно обрабатывается специями.
Ну и напоследок — страшная испанская тайна: Хамон это в переводе — бедро. Передняя нога у свиньи называется палета, и она намного дешевле т. к. мясо в ней хуже и больше костей.
Уже пару лет у меня в камере постоянно висит 2 — 3 куска говядины на сушке. А наиболее яркой получается сесина не из задницы коровы, а из самого лучшего, толстого края, конечно это стоит несколько дороже, но для себя любимого…
Рецепт для домашнего приготовления здесь (link)

Оставьте ответ

Ваш электронный адрес не будет опубликован.

This site uses cookies to enhance your experience. By continuing to the site you accept their use. More info in our cookies policy.     ACCEPT